There are many beautiful and serene places within Stanley Park that people love to visit, each of them unique and special in their own way, yet for many visitors who only travel along the perimeter road or along the seawall, the delights of Lost Lagoon are being missed.
Lost Lagoon is a beautiful lake situated just west of the causeway at the main entrance to the park, covering 41 acres (16.6 hectares.)
Looking at it today it is hard to imagine that it looked any different, but the fact is that Lost Lagoon isn’t quite as natural as it appears.
The main roadway that carries you into the park or onward to Lions Gate Bridge is entirely man-made and before its construction in 1916 Lost Lagoon was simply part of Coal Harbour and prone to the tides as any other part of the inlet. As the area was very shallow the outgoing tide would leave a huge mud flat. This fact did not go unnoticed by Pauline Johnson who would paddle her canoe in the area and would come to name it ‘Lost Lagoon’ due to the water ‘disappearing’ on the tide. This name was officially adopted by the park board in 1922 and has been known as such ever since.
There have been many uses of the lake over the years including fishing and boating but in 1938 after a walkway around its perimeter was constructed it was officially declared a bird sanctuary, as it remains to this day.
There’s nothing quite like sitting on one of the many park benches that line the southern shore of Lost Lagoon on a sunny day and taking in the peaceful sights of the water, the blissful sound of birdsong, the trees dancing in the breeze and the mountains in the distance. It’s an experience that feeds the soul and makes any tension in life vanish in an instant.